Posted by: eliperrin | January 15, 2012

Commited to getting my shi** together in 2012 – or -organizing our home


So I didn’t make any New Year’s resolutions this year, but I did start reading a fantastic book “One Bite at a Time” by Tsh Oxenreider of SimpleMom.net, which has inspired me to make some changes in 2012. The book is broken up into 52 small projects for making life simpler and more organized, or getting your shit together…something I could definitely use some help with. And the projects are organized into categories like, Money Management, Living Well, Organizing Your Space, Relationships…etc. You can start wherever you want, and you pick a project for each week of the year, totaling 52 weeks. I’m a little behind, as it’s closing in on the third week of January, but considering that I don’t have any kids and some of the projects relate to kids, I’m ahead of the game. I chose to start with Organizing Your Space (our tiny condo could use some cleanin’), and picked the project 25 “Organize your photo collection.”

Luke and I were given several beautiful photo albums for Christmas, and I’d like to do something with them, so this was the perfect kick in the butt to get started. Tsh gives several great tips for organizing your photos on your computer, e.g., categorizing into main events and deleting all the blurries. But, seeing as my husband is a type A, and the photographer in the family, we’re already good on that front. So, I am going to apply the same techniques to those boxes of photos we have from before we were a we…you know back in the day when Kodak meant something. I’m committed tonight to go through all of them and keep only the very best ones to go into our first family albums, which will be organized into “She” and “Him”, “We,” and “Us” for when we have kids…or for the dogs, who knows. I want our imaginary kids to have some story of who we were before they came along, and I’m really excited about picking the photos for that narrative tonight.

Here are a few that might make it into the cut.

Image

Responses

  1. awesome, liz. it sounds like you have a future that inspires you. I get to thinking about we are all future story tellers for your future kids. I am looking forward to being able to do that.

    • Thanks PJ! I’m excited about it. Even if we don’t have kids, I’m excited about telling our story. I love and miss you!

  2. Sorting out the photos may be a big task but it will be a trip down memory lane, enjoy the ride.

    • Thanks! And thanks for reading!

  3. Aww look at the WWW Sweetheart!

    • That you would enjoy that! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

