Posted by: eliperrin | August 22, 2011

The First Dress Exchange- Cris Stone of kiss my tulle


As many of you know, I met with Cris Stone of Kiss My Tulle back in June to exchange the dress and meet this incredibly awesome gal that I’d been corresponding with for months. I’m sorry it’s taken me so long to post a recap of the wonderful day, but here goes.

We met in June at a delish little restaurant, Uptown Blanco, near my parents home. Side note–If you live in the Texas Hill Country, please check out this place. The food is Texas gourmet at it’s best. — From our first few words, I was so glad that I’d chosen to pass down my dress to Cris. She’s a wonderful, vivacious person, who works tirelessly giving back to others through her blog, and I knew she not only completely deserved my dress, but she would give it a second stunning wedding day. She and her husband “the boy” are two very down-to-earth people, who were extremely easy to talk to. I was nervous that I would have little to talk about having not met Cris before (I shouldn’t have been from all our wonderful emails), but we didn’t have a moment of silence.  We actually have a lot in common, and gabbed about everything from remodeling our homes on a budget to wedding guests to family.  I haven’t looked back on the decision since, and I know we are going to be good friends for years to come.
After dinner, we went outside to transfer the dress between cars. I thought I would feel momentary jitters or regrets about giving away something that had played such a significant role in my big day, but the handover was easy, and actually relieving. I’m super stoked that my dress will not be going to waste, and that I have lots of extra closet space for more clothes ahead. Here are a few snapshots of the exchange.

 First dress wearer, and new dress wearer!


“The boy” was kind enough to heave the dress up for a picture as it traded hands; it’s quite heavy.

And that’s how the first dress exchange went down. Cris will be donning the gown in her 2012 wedding reception.  Due to some unfortunate family events, they ended up getting married this past July. I’m super happy for them and glad they were able to get married when the time was right for everyone in their family.

One reason that I haven’t written in so long, is that I loved the feeling of passing my dress down so much that I wanted to share the experience with other brides and have been designing a separate site just for wedding-related donations. It’s taking me a long time to complete due to a hectic work schedule, but I’m getting close to wrapping it up, and can’t wait to share it with everyone.  I’ll be able to keep track of the original dress through this site, a la sisterhood of the traveling dress, and allow other gals to get in on the fun. Trust me, besides getting hitched to the one you love, there are few feelings greater than passing along your dress and making a new friend in the process. Stay tuned. I’ll be posting a link to my new site in the next month or so.

Happy planning all!

-Elizabeth

Responses

  1. i wouldn’t mind sharing my wedding dress too if i have one and know that it’s being used again rather than gathering dust. splendid idea…


Leave a Reply

Categories

